Tuesday, 15 December 2009

2009 Dirty Awards: Commentator of the Year

Nominations and Winner:
- Matt Striker (Winner)
- Jim Ross
- Jerry ‘The King’ Lawler
- Todd Grisham
- Vince McMahon
Matt Striker has to win this award. Why? Because, he is one of the most knowledgeable commentators in WWE with the exception of J.R. But his performance at TLC alone means he should get the award, whilst Cole and King let their bias get in the way, Matt Striker objectively called Sheamus winning the WWE title and pointing out the crushed Cena and crushed children (much to the delight of O’Dea and myself.) Also he comments are a new breath of fresh air in WWE. Vince McMahon’s return to the mic was good but short and therefore he cannot win the Dirty, likewise Todd Grisham although he is a good commentator he does not have the certain something to get him to the standard of Dirty award winning. J.R. of course deserves a special mention and his consistency almost won him this Dirty, however due to illness he has been of our screens and therefore unable to win. (For news on J.R. go to his website http://www.jrsbarbq.com/) The King does not deserve the Dirty award because although a good commentator his need for a cheat sheet as he does not watch ECW or Smackdown left a bad taste in my mouth and stopped him from winning the award.

O'Dea Note: To be honest, there is nothing I need to add to this, Matt seems to get better and better every week and is now again showing off his very nice heel commentary, which at the PPVs, with the 3 man announce team works extremely well with the way he plays off Jerry Lawler. And here is Matt checking over his Slammy from last year:


No comments:

The Dirt Sheet HD is not linked in anyway to WWE, Mike "The Miz" Mizanin or John Hennigan. All World Wrestling Entertainment programming, talent names, images, likenesses, slogans, wrestling moves, trademarks, logos and copyrights are the exclusive property of World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc. and its subsidiaries. All other trademarks, logos and copyrights are the property of their respective owners. © 2010 World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc. All Rights Reserved.